21 Days of Prayer – Day 13

Readings: Psalms 16-17; 22; Genesis 6:1-8; Hebrews 3:12-19; John 2:1-12

In Psalms 16 and 17, David talks a lot about our relationship with God.  These Psalms continue to echo the prayer of my heart.

“I bless the LORD who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me.

I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.  (v. 7-8)

Verse 11 of chapter 16 continues this prayer, “in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

“As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness; when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.” (17:15)

It is not in worldly things that we are to take pleasure or find true pleasure, but in God’s presence.  After so many days of really searching the scriptures, I can say that I have so enjoyed seeing God’s word in new way, or applying it to a business situation.

I believe that no amount of worldly success can truly satisfy us.  I don’t mean to say that God doesn’t give us success, but I believe that our first job should be to rest in the shadow of his wings.  Are we pleasing him first.  Are we satisfied with what he gives right now?  Are we satisfied with just Him?  Are we thankful for what we have right now or do we just say it with our mouths, but our hearts are longing for more material things.  I am guilty of this on most days.  May the Lord have mercy.  Thankful for Jesus’ death on the cross that forgives my sins.

May I constantly be reminded of this as I walk this earth.

Prayer for my Team:  May we find our rest in Christ and Him alone.  May a spirit of unity pervade my team.  Though we are connected by being on a team, our walk on this earth is different.  May we be thankful for the differences and find friendship despite the differences. 

Leave a Reply

