21 Days of Prayer – Day 8

Readings: Psalms 146-147; 111-113; Genesis 1:1-2:3; Ephesians 1:3-14; John 1:29-34.

And God did… As I was reading these passages, I realized that God was the subject of many sentences and God did a lot of action.  I won’t go through them all because that would take too long.  So I encourage you to read the passages again.  God is never too busy to do what he has and will continue to do.  So what is our response to this?  We are to praise him.  That is all.  We do not have to be busy, but we are to praise.  I realize that as a mom, my life is very busy.  In that busy-ness am I praising? Am I praising him as I fold laundry, as I do the dishes, as I hear the kids bickering?  I have been guilty of not praising, and complaining to God about it all.

The penultimate verses are the Gospel verses and what do they say?

The next day he saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world! This is he of whom I said, ‘After me comes a man who ranks before me, because he was before me.’ I myself did not know him, but for this purpose I came baptizing with water, that he might be revealed to Israel.” And John bore witness: “I saw the Spirit descend from heaven like a dove, and it remained on him. I myself did not know him, but he who sent me to baptize with water said to me, ‘He on whom you see the Spirit descend and remain, this is he who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’And I have seen and have borne witness that this is the Son of God.”

John saw that Jesus was he who created, who lifted, who heals.  John was a witness to the incarnation of the God who does action.

Paul, too, bore witness to the action of Christ. So he wrote in Ephesians that God blessed us in Christ with all the blessings of heaven.  Christ encompasses all of the blessings of heaven.  Christ made us clean by his death on the cross.  He LAVISHED his grace on us.  He did all of this so that we would praise him and so that we would be sealed for heaven.

One of my children’s curricula talks about Strong Verbs.  God through the work of Christ encompassed all of the strong verbs. And all we are to do is  praise.  We need to have this good news at the forefront of our businesses, be it in the traditional market place or through direct sales or if we are at home taking care of our babies.  May we be the picture of the God of action to those we come in contact today and as we do that may we have an attitude of praise because of that divine action.

My Prayer for my Team:  Follow-up with people that contact us regarding our product.  It is because of God’s grace we have the oils.  May we return that grace to others by making sure we show people how much we care for them and follow-up promptly.  May we praise him continually for the lavish grace he gave to us.

Leave a Reply

