Remembering (Random thoughts)

The Chapel where we were married
The Chapel where we were married

The kids and I are staying in Louisville, Kentucky overnight.  It is making me very nostalgic.  I moved here with my parents in 1995.  I was 21.  I didn’t know what I was going to do with my life when I moved here.  I had a degree from Providence College in Otterburne, Manitoba, but wasn’t sure how that was going to help me live.  In the fall of 1995 I started going to a small secretarial school.  I still am embarrassed about that fact.  I have an AA in Medical Office Management from this tiny school in Louisville.

On April 14, 1997 I met Douglas.  He was going out to do his taxes at a friends’ apartment.  I was coming into the apartment after walking alone outside in the dark.  I was friends with all of his friends.  He was friends with all of my friends.  We had never really met.  He had a foo-man-chu mustache.  He wore really baggy khaki pants from J. Crew (when it had good quality clothing).  He had a Harley Davidson wallet on a chain.  He did not look like a typical polo-shirt-dockers wearing seminary student.

According to him, he knew he was going to marry me within a month.  I, on the other hand, did not.  He had a tattoo.  I was too tight-laced to understand that that’s really not that big of a deal.  I liked that he didn’t want to work in a church.  We spent many hours watching X-Files, the Simpsons, WWE Wrestling, and playing slaps on Nintendo Goldeneye.  We played football in the flooded Josephus Bowl (do they still call it that?)  Do the students do random things like that?  Thanks to a friend on security, we would climb on the roofs of the seminary buildings to sit and chill and talk about life and laugh.  We laughed lots.

When we did get engaged on June 7th of 1998, we had many people tell us they never even knew we were dating.  That made me feel good.  We did something right.  We hung out with friends, we fed friends beans and rice and stroganoff made with yogurt instead of sour cream (it doesn’t work right 🙂  )  We made trifle and cookies and put ice cream in the middle of them.  We were all poor together with our friends.

I never would have known on April 14, 1997 on this beautiful campus that our lives would end up the way they have.  Little did I know that the Lord would take us to Wales, back to Louisville.  Thankful God puts us where our gifts are.We have lived overseas twice.  Travelled all over Europe and had four beautiful children.

One Word. Thankful.

One thought on “Remembering (Random thoughts)

Leave a Reply

