Five-Minute-Friday – Comfort

Our Yard which brings much comfort!
Our Yard which brings much comfort!

 

Soooooo, (it’s my new favourite word), it’s Friday.  I have so much to do, but I needed to sit and write my 5-minute Friday post because I needed to.  Todays post title is this — Comfort.

You can find all about 5-Minute Friday here.

So here I go.

COMFORT

So recently I’ve been thinking about this.  How music brings comfort.  I’m not a musician.  I wish I was.  I wish I could sing like Amanda Seyfried in Les Miserables.  (Which EVERYONE should see!)  We’ve watched it 4 times.  But as I was making ciabatta bread this morning, I turned on Pandora to my Andrew Peterson station.  Watermark’s “Grace Flows Down”  (I don’t know the name of the song right now).  The music transports me back to when Douglas and I lived in Louisville.  I would walk in our neighborhood and I would listen to that song on my VERY LARGE Mp3 player.  This was before we owned an iPod which was much smaller than this big beast of a player.

The songs I’ve been listening to are comfort.  They bring peace to my heart.  Even if I don’t know the words, they comfort. Fernando Ortega, Bebo Norman all mellow, all comfort.  They make my heart so thankful that I have a God who loves me and made me his own.  Even if I don’t get a quiet time in this day, I listen to this and I feel like I am transported to the lap of God.  Where he sits and comforts me in my busy-ness.  He comforts me in the midst of chores in the midst of screaming kids, vacuums buzzing, and a dog who does not settle easily.

DONE.

Now it’s your turn.  What can you write this wonderful Friday.

4 thoughts on “Five-Minute-Friday – Comfort

Leave a Reply

