Five-Minute Friday – GRASP

It’s Five Minute Friday Time again.   Here are all the details.  Come join us as we write for five minutes straight.  All the details are here.  

Today’s Title is GRASP.  Hmmmm….  Here goes.  Warning, this may be a random thought post.

My friend Jennifer has a good topic for her Five-minute Friday. I’m gonna add my spin to it.  I’ve often talked about wanting to write a novel.  I’m not very good at writing, but I’ve tried over the years to write.  I think my perfectionistic streak says that it has to be REALLY good in order for it to be a good read.  Really good like Francine Rivers or Bodie Thoene.  Where the characters come to life in your dreams because you’ve been reading the books and you stay up until 3 a.m. because you really can’t put them down. 

So what do I do with this dream of writing?  Right now I know is not the time for me to write.  I have four kids, I homeschool, I like to make bread.  There aren’t enough hours in the day to write.  I like to relax with my husband and watch old X-files episodes in the evening.  (That show is still freaky though it is 20 years old!)  I grasp the thought of writing and I want to hold tight to it and yet, I have to have peace enough to let it go for now.  I have to agree with God that if I write, other things in life have to go by the wayside.  I don’t want those other things to be my children. So I let go of this dream for now and just rest in the thought that if God wants that for me, then he will give me the ideas for a book. He will give me the time to write.

The timer says I’m done,  I could have rambled on.  

 

8 thoughts on “Five-Minute Friday – GRASP

  1. My dream for writing just came in the last year, and my “heroes” are Ann Voskamp and Lisa Jo Baker instead of Francine Rivers! 🙂 But yes, the time to write is limited now! just keep writing for 5 minutes on Friday for now… it’s good stuff!
    I’m still working on letting go of perfection too! 🙂

  2. Beautiful one! If we were still in the same community you could help me put my new blog space together! : ) I know your heart for writing. I’m trying to be very intentional about what He’s asking for just this moment. I know how much joy you hold in pouring yourself out for your kids and Douglas. I can’t wait to see this calling unfold in the years to come. And I totally understand dreaming about a Francine Rivers character! It’s about time to read The Mark of the Lion again! Love you!

  3. Dreams delayed are simply a “not now’ most of the time, and so worth the wait – said the mom of a 3 year old who’s been married 21 years. 🙂 Rambling is a great thing, isn’t it? BTW – I totally agree about the X-Files.

  4. Kudos to you from a fellow X-files fan! My children are grown now, but I homeschooled them and enjoyed making bread too. My dreams waited for me, and now I’m beginning to achieve them. I know you will, too.

Leave a Reply

