Stretch – Five Minute Friday

So I obviously did not read the rules last week for “Five Minute Friday.”  I’m supposed to write on a topic, so today I will follow the rules found here. Here we go…

I’m old, Gandalf. I know I don’t look it, but I’m beginning to feel it in my heart. I feel…thin. Sort of stretched, like…butter scraped over too much bread. I need a holiday. A very long holiday.

– Bilbo Baggins, from J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Fellowship of the Ring

I love that quote.  I love the picture it paints, I love the fact that it is completely how I feel at this moment in time.  I am stretched.  I have been trying for weeks to get organized for our 2012-2013 school year and I cannot seem to even begin to work on it.  Baking, laundry, children fighting, all take up time and I need some space and peace and quiet to work on this stuff.  My husband has to preach this weekend and so in order to give him peace and quiet to work on his sermon, I need to be all ears to the children.  Then to top it off, we found out that there is a babysitters course by the red cross tomorrow and so Brennig will be gone all day doing that.  He wants to earn money and he is now old enough to babysit.  YEAH!!!!!  I will be down one child tomorrow, but he’s really not usually the problem.  I need to vacuum my floors (with my vacuum that finally arrived from 3 year storage in Texas) and I need to plan meals and love my children and all of this while planning for the school year as well.  I would like some peace and quiet, so I believe that I will turn the TV on tomorrow and let it babysit the children for  the day.  Not the best mothering thing to do, but in order to get things organized, desperate times call for desperate measures.  I, obviously, will not be starting school on Monday.  Tuesday we start CC so that at least is a beginning, but there’s so much to do before I feel like I can really begin school.  Oh to have a Nanny who can do the cooking and cleaning for me.  This stretching business is hard work especially in the fall for homeschool moms.

Leave a Reply

