>Borscht – Mennonite Style

>
Okay, I don’t know if this is how all Mennonites make Borscht, but it is the Borscht I grew up on. I have never made it before. My kids are big into Soups all of a sudden so I thought since we were studying Russia in History this week, I would make Borscht. The recipe the History book called for Beets, but my mom said this would taste better and the kids would eat it.

So here’s the recipe.

1 Pound Stew Beef
6-8 cups Water
2 tsp salt

Low boil that for an hour.

Add chopped carrots, about 1 1/2 cups,
2 large potatoes, cubed;
1 large onion, chopped.

Into a large Soup Ball Infuser, place fresh dill, about 10 peppercorns and some parsley (either fresh or dried) and a Bay leaf. Place that in the pot and allow to low-boil for awhile then add diced tomatoes and chopped cabbage. I used 2 cans of tomatoes (15 oz size) and then about 3/4 of a bag of chopped cabbage. Allow that to cook for about 30 minutes and enjoy! It freezes well.

By the way, the Soup Ball Infuser I have is different than the one I linked. I got mine when we got married and I haven’t seen them since, but I found a link to something like it.

One thought on “>Borscht – Mennonite Style

Leave a Reply

